Sikkens Prize
Sikkens Foundation

Sikkens Foundation

The Sikkens Foundation is an independent foundation financially supported by AkzoNobel. The foundation aims to identify social, cultural and scientific developments in which colour plays a specific role and impacts society.

In addition, the foundation contributes to the development and knowledge transfer of the application of colour and colour theory. Finally, the foundation aims to make society and the general public aware of the importance of colour and the impact of the transformative work of the Sikkens Prize winner on the lives of all of us.

Since its establishment in 1972, the Sikkens Foundation has closely followed international developments in the field of colour. The awarding of the Sikkens Prize and the organisation of the Mondrian Lecture are among the core activities of the Sikkens Foundation.

The Sikkens Prize is awarded every two years. This unique and independent prize – which crosses disciplines – sheds light on the importance and impact of colour in society through the exceptionally high quality and pioneering and transformative work of the prize winners.

The prize is a token of recognition and appreciation for exceptional achievements in which colour is central, which can also be interpreted metaphorically. The first Sikkens Prize was awarded to Gerrit Rietveld in 1959. Later prize winners include Piet Oudolf, Carolyn Porco, Hella Jongerius, David Chipperfield and Bridget Riley.

The Mondrian Lecture is held every two years in combination with the Sikkens Prize, in which a scientist, artist or designer discusses (developments in) colour application and colour theory. The lecture contributes to the development and knowledge transfer in these fields. The Mondrian Lecture has already been given by Umberto Eco, Herman Pleij, Dick Schwaab and Narayan Khandekar.